Garrett and Ogunjobi earn local PFWA awards (12.30.20)

For Immediate Release

Dec. 30, 2020



BEREA, Ohio – Cleveland Browns DE Myles Garrett and DT Larry Ogunjobi each have earned awards from the local chapter of the Pro Football Writers of America (PFWA) for the 2020 season. Garrett was voted the PFWA Joe Thomas Award winner and Ogunjobi was named the PFWA Dino Lucarelli ‘Good Guy Award’ winner.


Voted a starter in the Pro Bowl, Garrett has appeared in 13 games and recorded 44 tackles, 12 sacks, four forced fumbles and two fumble recoveries. Despite missing two games, his sack total is tied for sixth in the NFL and tied for the fourth-most by a Brown in a season. Earlier this year, Garrett set a Browns record by recording at least one sack in six consecutive games (Weeks 2-7). He was named AFC Defensive Player of the Week in Week 4 and the AFC Defensive Player of the Month for October. He was also named the Browns 2020 Walter Payton Man of the Year.


The ‘Good Guy Award’ is given annually to a player for his cooperation with the media and for the way the player carries himself in the community and with his teammates. Ogunjobi joined the Browns as a third round pick in 2017. He has started 14 games this season and recorded 44 tackles, 2.5 sacks and one forced fumble.


Cleveland Browns PFWA

Joe Thomas Award – Player of the Year Winners:

2001    LB Jamir Miller

2002    RB William Green

2003    LB Andra Davis

2004    SS Robert Griffith

2005    RB Reuben Droughns

2006    LB Kamerion Wimbley

2007    QB Derek Anderson

2008    DL Shaun Rogers

2009    KR Joshua Cribbs

2010    RB Peyton Hillis

2011    LB D’Qwell Jackson

2012    K Phil Dawson

2013    WR Josh Gordon

2014    OL Joe Thomas

2015    TE Gary Barnidge

2016    OL Joe Thomas

2017    RB Duke Johnson Jr.

2018    QB Baker Mayfield

2019    RB Nick Chubb

2020    DE Myles Garrett


Cleveland Browns PFWA Dino Lucarelli

‘Good Guy Award’ Winners:

2001    QB Tim Couch

2002    DB Corey Fuller

2003    OL Shaun O’Hara

2004    DB Daylon McCutcheon

2005    OL Jeff Faine

2006    DB Brian Russell

2007    K Phil Dawson

2008    DB Brandon McDonald

2009    LB David Bowens

2010    OL Joe Thomas

2011    DB Mike Adams

2012    LB D’Qwell Jackson

2013    OL Joe Thomas

2014    QB Brian Hoyer

2015    QB Josh McCown

2016    LB Christian Kirksey

2017    OL Joel Bitonio
2018    OL Joel Bitonio

2019    DL Sheldon Richardson

2020    DL Larry Ogunjobi