Garrett and Bitonio earn local PFWA awards (1.4.24)

For Immediate Release

Jan. 4, 2024


BEREA, Ohio – Cleveland Browns DE Myles Garrett and OL Joel Bitonio each have earned awards from the local chapter of the Pro Football Writers of America (PFWA) for the 2023 season. Garrett was unanimously voted the PFWA Joe Thomas Award winner and Bitonio was named winner of the PFWA Dino Lucarelli ‘Good Guy Award.’


Garrett, who was named to his fifth career Pro Bowl, is leading the Browns with 14 sacks. Garrett anchors a Browns defense that leads the NFL in several categories including total defense (266.6 yards per game) and passing defense (165.9 yards per game). The team’s 266.6 net yards allowed per game are the fewest allowed in the NFL since the 2009 Jets allowed 252.3. The Browns also lead the NFL in third down percentage (64-of-218 for 29.4 percent) and has allowed just 231 total first downs, 47 less than the Chiefs who are currently second in the NFL. Garrett is the first Browns player to win the Joe Thomas award three times, having won it in three of the past four seasons.


The ‘Good Guy Award’ is given annually to a player for his cooperation with the media and for the way the player carries himself in the community and with his teammates. This marks Bitonio’s fourth time (2017, 2018, 2021 and 2023) winning the award. Joe Thomas (2010 and 2013) is the only other player in team history to win the award more than once.


Cleveland Browns PFWA

Joe Thomas Award – Player of the Year Winners:

2001    LB Jamir Miller

2002    RB William Green

2003    LB Andra Davis

2004    SS Robert Griffith

2005    RB Reuben Droughns

2006    LB Kamerion Wimbley

2007    QB Derek Anderson

2008    DL Shaun Rogers

2009    KR Joshua Cribbs

2010    RB Peyton Hillis

2011    LB D’Qwell Jackson

2012    K Phil Dawson

2013    WR Josh Gordon

2014    OL Joe Thomas

2015    TE Gary Barnidge

2016    OL Joe Thomas

2017    RB Duke Johnson Jr.

2018    QB Baker Mayfield

2019    RB Nick Chubb

2020    DE Myles Garrett

2021    DE Myles Garrett

2022    OL Joel Bitonio

2023    DE Myles Garrett


Cleveland Browns PFWA Dino Lucarelli

‘Good Guy Award’ Winners:

2001    QB Tim Couch

2002    DB Corey Fuller

2003    OL Shaun O’Hara

2004    DB Daylon McCutcheon

2005    OL Jeff Faine

2006    DB Brian Russell

2007    K Phil Dawson

2008    DB Brandon McDonald

2009    LB David Bowens

2010    OL Joe Thomas

2011    DB Mike Adams

2012    LB D’Qwell Jackson

2013    OL Joe Thomas

2014    QB Brian Hoyer

2015    QB Josh McCown

2016    LB Christian Kirksey

2017    OL Joel Bitonio
2018    OL Joel Bitonio

2019    DL Sheldon Richardson

2020    DL Larry Ogunjobi

2021    OL Joel Bitonio and DE Myles Garrett

2022    QB Jacoby Brissett

2023    OL Joel Bitonio