Chubb and Richardson earn local PFWA awards (12.26.19)

For Immediate Release

Dec. 26, 2019



BEREA, Ohio – Cleveland Browns RB Nick Chubb and DL Sheldon Richardson each have earned awards from the local chapter of the Pro Football Writers of America (PFWA) for the 2019 season. Chubb was unanimously voted the PFWA Joe Thomas Award winner and Sheldon was named the PFWA Dino Lucarelli ‘Good Guy Award’ winner.


Chubb, a second-round pick in 2018, is leading the NFL in rushing yards with 1,453. His rushing total is the most by a Brown since Jim Brown in 1965 and currently ranks as the fourth most in team history. Voted a starter for the Pro Bowl, Chubb has added eight rushing touchdowns and seven 100-yard rushing games this season. He ranks second in the NFL in scrimmage yards with 1,730.


The ‘Good Guy Award’ is given annually to a player for his cooperation with the media and for the way the player carries himself in the community and with his teammates. Richardson is the first defensive lineman to win since the award’s inception in 2001. Richardson joined the Browns this offseason as an unrestricted free agent. He has appeared in all 15 games with 14 starts, while recording 59 tackles, three sacks and three forced fumbles.


Cleveland Browns PFWA

Joe Thomas Award – Player of the Year Winners:

2001    LB Jamir Miller

2002    RB William Green

2003    LB Andra Davis

2004    SS Robert Griffith

2005    RB Reuben Droughns

2006    LB Kamerion Wimbley

2007    QB Derek Anderson

2008    DL Shaun Rogers

2009    KR Joshua Cribbs

2010    RB Peyton Hillis

2011    LB D’Qwell Jackson

2012    K Phil Dawson

2013    WR Josh Gordon

2014    OL Joe Thomas

2015    TE Gary Barnidge

2016    OL Joe Thomas

2017    RB Duke Johnson Jr.

2018    QB Baker Mayfield

2019    RB Nick Chubb


Cleveland Browns PFWA Dino Lucarelli

‘Good Guy Award’ Winners:

2001    QB Tim Couch

2002    DB Corey Fuller

2003    OL Shaun O’Hara

2004    DB Daylon McCutcheon

2005    OL Jeff Faine

2006    DB Brian Russell

2007    K Phil Dawson

2008    DB Brandon McDonald

2009    LB David Bowens

2010    OL Joe Thomas

2011    DB Mike Adams

2012    LB D’Qwell Jackson

2013    OL Joe Thomas

2014    QB Brian Hoyer

2015    QB Josh McCown

2016    LB Christian Kirksey

2017    OL Joel Bitonio
2018    OL Joel Bitonio

2019    DL Sheldon Richardson