Bitonio and Brissett earn local PFWA awards (1.5.23)

For Immediate Release

Jan. 5, 2023



BEREA, Ohio – Cleveland Browns OL Joel Bitonio and QB Jacoby Brissett each have earned awards from the local chapter of the Pro Football Writers of America (PFWA) for the 2022 season. Bitonio was voted the PFWA Joe Thomas Award winner and Brissett was named winner of the PFWA Dino Lucarelli ‘Good Guy Award.’


Bitonio has played every offensive snap this season and was selected to his fifth consecutive Pro Bowl. He is the first Browns guard to be named to five consecutive Pro Bowls since Gene Hickerson, a Pro Football Hall of Famer, made six straight from 1966-71. Bitonio has helped the Browns rank among the league leaders in most rushing categories this season and has opened holes for RB Nick Chubb, who is second in the NFL in rushing yards. The Joe Thomas Award is given annually to the team’s MVP as voted on by the local PFWA. Bitonio joins Joe Thomas (2014 and 2016) as the only offensive linemen to win the award.


The ‘Good Guy Award’ is given annually to a player for his cooperation with the media and for the way the player carries himself in the community and with his teammates. Brissett is the first Browns quarterback to win the award since Josh McCown in 2015.


Cleveland Browns PFWA Joe Thomas Award – Player of the Year Winners:

2001    LB Jamir Miller

2002    RB William Green

2003    LB Andra Davis

2004    SS Robert Griffith

2005    RB Reuben Droughns

2006    LB Kamerion Wimbley

2007    QB Derek Anderson

2008    DL Shaun Rogers

2009    KR Joshua Cribbs

2010    RB Peyton Hillis

2011    LB D’Qwell Jackson

2012    K Phil Dawson

2013    WR Josh Gordon

2014    OL Joe Thomas

2015    TE Gary Barnidge

2016    OL Joe Thomas

2017    RB Duke Johnson Jr.

2018    QB Baker Mayfield

2019    RB Nick Chubb

2020    DE Myles Garrett

2021    DE Myles Garrett

2022    OL Joel Bitonio


Cleveland Browns PFWA Dino Lucarelli  ‘Good Guy Award’ Winners:

2001    QB Tim Couch

2002    DB Corey Fuller

2003    OL Shaun O’Hara

2004    DB Daylon McCutcheon

2005    OL Jeff Faine

2006    DB Brian Russell

2007    K Phil Dawson

2008    DB Brandon McDonald

2009    LB David Bowens

2010    OL Joe Thomas

2011    DB Mike Adams

2012    LB D’Qwell Jackson

2013    OL Joe Thomas

2014    QB Brian Hoyer

2015    QB Josh McCown

2016    LB Christian Kirksey

2017    OL Joel Bitonio
2018    OL Joel Bitonio

2019    DL Sheldon Richardson

2020    DL Larry Ogunjobi

2021    OL Joel Bitonio and DE Myles Garrett

2022    QB Jacoby Brissett